Foreign ministers of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, UAE, Egypt support Gaza crisis mediation efforts

The foreign ministers of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Egypt held a virtual meeting on Monday, during which they discussed the updates of the mediation efforts made by Qatar, Egypt, and the United States of America to reach an exchange deal that would lead to a permanent ceasefire and the release of the hostages and detainees, in addition to bringing sufficient aid into the Gaza Strip. The foreign ministers of Saudi Arabia, Jordan, and the UAE expressed their endorsement of these efforts.

In a joint statement, the five countries said that the ministers discussed the proposal to achieve that goal presented by US President Joe Biden on June 2.

The ministers of foreign affairs of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, the UAE, and Egypt stressed that President Biden’s proposal must be dealt with seriously and positively, in order to agree on a deal that ensures reaching a permanent ceasefire and allows the delivery of sufficient aid across the Gaza Strip, ending the suffering of the strip’s population.

The ministers emphasized the need to put an end to the aggression on Gaza and the resulting humanitarian catastrophe, as well as the return of displaced persons to their areas, the full withdrawal of the Israeli occupation forces from the strip, and launching a reconstruction process within the framework of a comprehensive plan to implement the two-state solution in accordance with the relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions, to be conducted within specified timeframes and binding guarantees.

On the other hand, the ministers emphasized that the implementation of the two-state solution, which embodies an independent, sovereign Palestinian state based on the June 4, 1967 lines, with East Jerusalem as its capital, living in security and peace alongside Israel, in accordance with relevant international legitimacy resolutions, is the path to achieving security and peace for all in the region.